#### NEW ZEALAND SOCIETY OF NOTARIES INCORPORATED

#### MINUTES OF THE NINTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

#### held at by Zoom on Monday, 7 September 2020 at 1pm

#### In attendance:

Stewart Germann of Auckland, Bruce Stewart of Palmerston North, Allen Mazengarb of New Plymouth, Don Thomas of Auckland, Mike Scannell of Wellington, Ken Lord of Christchurch, Julian Airey of Auckland, John Baker of Havelock North, Warwick Cambridge of Queenstown, Tony Fortune of Auckland, James (Jim) Galt of Hamilton, Anthony (Tony) Herring of Christchurch, Anthony (Tony) Ivanson of Auckland, Peter Jones of Russell, Katie Lane of Dunedin, Jayne Macdonald of Queenstown, David Nicoll of Auckland, Sandra (Sandie) Robinson of Hamilton, Phillip Wong of Auckland.

Tracey Merlini (minutes)

The meeting was opened by the President at 1.02pm and quorum of 10 reached.

## 1 Apologies

The President noted receipt of 34 apologies and advised the list would be appended to the Minutes.

# 2 Deaths

Before proceeding with the agenda, the President wished to be recorded for the records the death this year of two members being Wayne Chapman of Wellington in January and Andrie Hart in June.

## 3 Minutes of 2019 AGM

The minutes of the 2019 AGM were made available for members to review. There being no comments or matters arising from the previous AGM minutes the President moved that the 2019 AGM minutes be accepted.

Moved: Stewart Germann Seconded: Mike Scannell

Carried

#### 4 Adoption of President's Report

The President reviewed his annual report to the Society and summarised the main points therein. He noted there were 190 members, 4 new appointments and 12 applications in London waiting on the Master's approval. He noted there had been a backlog in London due to COVID but those awaiting their faculty should receive them in due course. The President advised the rest of his report would be covered further in the meeting.

#### 5 Annual accounts for the period 1 April 2019 to 31 March 2020

The President advised that the annual accounts had been prepared by the Society's auditor Owen Williams and he wished to acknowledge Owen's continued assistance. He noted surplus funds of \$36,000 and a lower deficit of \$8,000 compared with 2019.

The President asked if there were any queries in relation to the accounts. No questions having been raised, the President moved that the financial records for the period 1 April 2019 to 31 March 2020 be approved.

Moved: Stewart Germann Seconded: Ken Lord

Carried

#### 6 Increase in subscriptions

As outlined in the previous Council minutes and the President's Report it was considered an increase in the annual subscription was required. It was noted there had been no increase to the subscription for several years. Allen Mazengarb, the Society's Treasurer, advised he recently undertook a simple budget and concluded that the costs to the Society were projected to continue to exceed income and that to have a sufficient buffer, it would be necessary to increase the subscription to \$200 per year. The President asked if there were any queries in relation to the proposed increase in subscription. There being no comment the President moved that the subscription be increased to \$200 per annum.

Moved:Stewart GermannSeconded:Don Thomas

Carried

## 7 Election of Council

The President advised that six nominations were received for Council representation this year from:

- 1. Stewart Germann of Auckland
- 2. Don Thomas of Auckland
- 3. Allen Mazengarb of New Plymouth
- 4. Bruce Stewart of Palmerston North
- 5. Michael Scannell of Wellington
- 6. Julie Hutton of Christchurch

As no ballot was required the above nominations will form Council for the 2020/2021 year. The President confirmed that Council will continue to co-opt Ken Lord of Christchurch to assist with representation in the South Island.

The offices of President, Vice President, and Treasurer will be subject to election of those roles at the Council meeting to be held after the AGM.

#### 8 General Business

The President opened the meeting for any items of general business.

## (a) **Donation by Tony Ivanson**

The President opened the general business with a note of thanks to Tony Ivanson who recently advertised his seal stamp for sale and donated the proceeds of that sale to the Society towards the Scholarship.

#### (b) Dinner for Bob Eades

Sadly, due to the COVID-19 restrictions the dinner for Bob Eades' retirement hosted by the ADLS could not take place. It will be rescheduled for some time in 2021. The President noted that Tony Herring and Richard Wilson have agreed to take over from Bob and conduct the tutorials for the notary public applicants and he thanked them for their support..

#### (c) Website, Forum, Precedents

Don Thomas advised that Council is meeting next week with the website designer. He asked that if members have suggestions, please forward any comments. Council would encourage members to use the forum. There have been some precedents uploaded and Council would welcome further examples from notary members.

Mike Scannell advised that he, Julie Hutton and Bruce Stewart had undertaken some training videos for the website and several had been uploaded to the Society's website recently and were undergoing some final adjustments before being made visible to the membership.

## (d) Thanks to the Secretary

The President wished to record thanks to Tracey Merlini, the Society's secretary for her good work.

There being no further business, the President wished to thank all in attendance.

The meeting closed at 1.17pm.

Signed as a true and correct record this

day of

2020.

President

# Apologies:

	Apologies	A	
1.	Alister	Argyle	
2.	Julie	Balance	
3.	Paul	Barnett	
4.	Dennis	Brown	
5.	Barry	Ching	
6.	You Taek	Choi	
7.	Tony	Coupe	
8.	Nicolene	Du Toit	
9.	Bob	Eades	
10.	Chris	Gibson	
11.	John	Hanning	
12.	Grant	Harris	
13.	Michael	Hockly	
14.	Jeremy	Hucker	
15.	Julie	Hutton	
16.	Sue	Ironside	
17.	Kathy	James	
18.	Robert	Keam	
19.	Alan	Macalister	
20.	Errol	Macdonald	
21.	Paul	Maskell	
22.	Greg	McDonnell	
23.	Ross	McKechnie	
24.	Roger	Miller	
25.	Simon	Milne	
26.	Jane	Montgomery	
27.	Evan	Moore	
28.	Chris	Moore	
29.	Brian	Palliser	
30.	David	Short	
31.	Frank	Sing	
32.	Anand	Singh	
33.	David	Stone	
34.	Ben	Tothill	
Late apologies			
1.	Oscar	Alpers	
2.	Terry	Hibbitt	
2	Arthur		

±.	0000	
2.	Terry	Hibbitt
3.	Arthur	Loo
4.	Garry	Pollak
5.	Amelia	Simpson